Renting an apartment? Be prepared for a background check

Share This Page

You’re about to rent an apartment. You’ve saved for your security deposit and lined up a moving truck. But have you checked your credit report? Landlords may, so you should too. If a landlord does a background check, here are some things to know about your rights.

Landlords can check your credit, criminal history, and even your rental history. They may ask your permission but they’re not required to. So, if you know you’ll be looking for a new place to live – or if you’re about to renew your lease – then here are a few things you can do:

  • Go to annualcreditreport.com to check your credit. That way, you can fix any errors before a landlord sees them.
  • Give the landlord your correct full name—first, middle, and last—and date of birth. This helps make sure the landlord gets information on the right person. 
  • If you have a criminal history or previous housing court actions, gather any paperwork showing how the action was resolved in case you need to fix errors.

Some landlords might say not to apply if you have a criminal record. That could be discrimination. If that happens to you or if you think that a landlord illegally discriminated against you for another reason, such as your race or gender, contact the Department of Housing and Urban Development

What if a landlord refuses to rent to you or charges you more because of something in a background check? Then you have rights:

  • The landlord must give you notice of the action – orally, in writing or electronically.
  • The notice must give you contact information for the company that supplied the report.
  • The notice must tell you about your rights to correct inaccurate information and to get a free copy of the report if you ask for it within 60 days of the landlord’s decision.

You should obtain your free report, fix any errors, and have the company that supplied the report give the corrected report to the landlord. Tell the landlord about the mistake, too. For more information on background reports and your rights, check out the Summary of Rights.

If you think a landlord or property manager violated your rights – or anyone else’s – when using a background check, report it to the FTC. And if you’re a landlord who wants to do the right thing, check out Using Consumer Reports: What Landlords Need to Know.

Blog Topics: 
Money & Credit

Comments

Very helpful information

As the above shows, very little protection for tenants, As here in Arizona, if a Landlord wants you out, all they have to do is say, Get Out, and you have No recourse, and the very little that you do have, is Costly and Time consuming. I'm Not talking about people who are committing Felonies..

Arizona state law ARS § 33-1367 prohibits a landlord from forcing a tenant out of the rental unit unlawfully. It is illegal for a landlord to change the locks on the rental unit or turn off the utilities in order to force a tenant to move out of the rental unit. These kind of practices are called self-help evictions, and Arizona law specifically makes them illegal. If the landlord tries to evict the tenant through a self-help method, the landlord may end up owing the tenant monetary damages.

thank you ftc

As per how money dictates a renter has no rights when looking for a home, all the rights goes where the big profits are flowing which is the land owners. In Utah a landlord can evict a tenant in 3 days for no reason, look it up.

Screen your Land-Lord: make sure they are not Registered Sex Offenders. I would sleep so much better at night fully knowing that unsuspecting Tenants are not being taken advantage of.

what I do not like is a person who has no credit rating is treated like they have a poor credit rating. Something wrong there. A person who does not owe still gets discriminated against. In my case I had to pay a higher damage deposit in full without using a credit card.

I was denied an apartment with affordable housing for not putting current landlords name, I gave new information to receptionist, she asked for his address, and phone number so when I asked her if she wanted his name she replied "No, this should be enough. I was a bit shocked but more shocked to be denied for something that affordable housings receptionist had done. That denial was in September2016 and that's the $35 background, credit check I paid for. They gave my apartment to someone else and corrected my denial but now it's been 3 months and I feel it's more to what's really going on. This happened in Portland Oregon.

Will a restraining order show up on a background check for renting an apartment in Arizona

This FTC article has information about background checks, and the kind of questions an employer can ask you during the hiring process. You can read the article, and follow the links in the article to get more information related to employment.

For information about renting,  you could look at state law about landlords and tenants, or contact your local housing agency to ask about tenants' rights.

I have nonviolent, nondrug related charges in Ohio. I am looking for an apartment in Jacksonville, FL. I have been told most apartment complexes only do a state background checks and my charges wont show up. Do you know if this is true?

Best part is, when renting you pay up front. Standard these days is first, last and security plus pet deposits (if you're lucky enough to actually find a rental that allows pets). Credit is not being extended to the renter, and each month is paid in advance. If a landlord asks for a credit check, be sure to get one from them too. How does a renter know that their landlord is paying their bills? What if they don't pay their mortgage?

I recently applied for a 1 bedroom apt in Pasadena Texas. The manager told me basically I was approved as long as I had no felonies (which I don't) she asked me for a $150 $50 app fee and a $100 was the first months rent because they where running a special $99 move in with no security deposit. They told me they had to do a background check but if everything was ok I could move in 3 days I waited and waited and noone called me back so after 5 days I went into the office and they said I wasn't approved because of 2 misdemeanors! I asked for my $ back and they said they would mail me $100 because $50 was for my background check and it's been over 3 weeks and I still have not received my refund! Every time I call I get a run-a-round and no one knows whats going on. They say the person I need to speak to is out of the office and will have to call me back, but I never receive a call back! What can I do?

You may want to file a complaint with the Texas Attorney General's Office.

Leave a Comment

Comment Policy